• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Fundraising Season

http://fightcf.cff.org/site/TR/GreatStrides/84_Nebraska_Omaha?px=1360314&pg=personal&fr_id=4835

 

There is a time for everything,

and a season for every activity

under the heavens:

Ecclesiastes 3:1

IMG_3138 copy

Loved getting to capture this picture the other day. Reaching…Reaching… Reaching for a goal!! Our goal is that CF will be a side note in her life rather than a driving force! God is able!

 

For me this is true in nearly every way, especially as we raise and rear our five sweet children.  There is a school season, spring time ( my personal favorite), summer (a close second), fall, and winter.  Then there are the sports seasons in our home, football, basketball, volleyball, and baseball seasons which many of you can identify with.  Then we have a unique season, I refer to it as the fundraising season in our home.  It sounds kind of strange to have a fundraising season, but let me explain.  For me, it was not until I was able to compartmentalize that there was a “season” for fundraising for cystic fibrosis that I was able to allow my mind to rest.  I feel like I am constantly in the mode of awareness, and while the two are closely related…they are far enough apart in my mind that there is a distinction.  Sadly, I am constantly learning about this monster of cf, and I don’t mind sharing that with others.  I am sure my friends get tired of my “informative” posts, blogs et.  But there is a marked difference between information and begging them to engage more than just their minds in our fight.  Whether that is by prayer, sharing our story, walking with us, or giving money.  When we first started this process, it was like a frantic sprint.  I fiercely tried all the time to get everyone that we knew to join our fight.  While those that know me know that fighting for a cure for CF is something that is obviously near to my heart, I have learned that it is something that fits well in a season of sorts.  Of course we
FIGHT
CF
EVERY
SINGLE
DAY
OF
EVERY
SINGLE
YEAR

However, there is a joy with being able to lay down my fundraising hat and JUST BE RACHEL’S MOM!!  A few years ago I had a friend that was super excited about helping me fundraise.  She had the same go-get-em’ attitude that I started out with.  She had ideas for the spring, and ideas for the Fall and truly great ideas of things that would work all year long.  As excited as I was for her help, I realized that my heart needed to be able to step away from the emotionally challenging aspect of this disease.  Fundraising forces me to looking square in the eye of the horrors of CF. It is a harsh reminder that Rachel is in fact in a race against time.  So far…100% of people with cf have died!  And…well, most of them far younger than any mama would hope for.  So as weird as it sounds there are times where I joyfully choose to forget for moments in the day that we have this wicked disease waring in my child’s sweet body.  Fundraising while INCREDIBLY IMPORTANT and truly the only way we are ever going to get the medication we need for health…requires that I let our story be known, it requires that I humbly ask as a mother that is desperate for her child to have a longer, healthier life!!  Well, I am desperate all of the time, but it is in that fundraising season that I choose to open a crack in the window of our lives.  We allow others to see the good, the bad, the extraordinary and the pain that comes with walking alongside my precious girl in her fight.

IMG_3081 copy

I asked if it was okay to take a picture? She asked me if I was okay with her looking away? ABSOLUTELY! You don’t have to smile when getting a blood draw or even look towards me. However, there is something amazing about chronicling a difficult journey no matter what it is.

There is something so beautiful about knowing others care.  I say it each and every year, but there is NO WAY others could possibly know the joy they bring to our hearts.  I HATE ASKING for help!
I feel weak,
I feel needy,
I feel afraid people will say no,
I worry people will think poor of us,
I feel desperate,
I feel broken and bruised from the fight of cf,
but…in it all,
I AM KEENLY aware that I CAN NOT improve my child’s health alone!
WE NEED OTHERS TO HELP US FIGHT WELL!!

Every single time someone says, “Yes!” it causes the burden in our hearts to feel just a bit lighter. I honestly do not know how it works, but I do know that it lifts my spirit in ways that are unexplainable.  I also know that as my girl is maturing…it is a precious thing that she is beginning to understand and be encouraged by those yeses as well.

IMG_3073 copy

This was first thing in the morning. You can tell by Rachel’s eyes. A bit tired, a bit droopy, and DEFINITELY not wanting to be at the hospital for a long appointment. She said, she did not want to be here. I concurred, but told her that she did not have to “act” or “look” happy about being at the hospital. There is something real and true about having a picture that shows the emotional state we were in at the moment. Well…this is it! Eyes awake, but body feeling a bit beat down by the process of managing cf!

 

There are many paradoxical things about watching your child with a deadly disease grow up.  On one hand we easily discuss many difficult aspects of life and death.  On the other we are gratified knowing that Rachel is beginning to understand her disease and own it.  This year she has played an active part in working on her t-shirt design.  I have also been much more aware and sensitive to what I post.  I allow her to give input on much of what I share.  You may notice there are many pictures of her from the back at clinics. =)  Kind of interesting and neat to watch her growth.  We are overwhelmed and overjoyed to have this journey of navigating how to raise a strong, God-honoring, humble, resilient, courageous and loving child fighting a harsh disease before us.  We are equally and more impressively blessed to know that God walks this path with usIMG_3075 copy

So while we attempt to allow a window into our world in the next few months of fundraising, we are thankful for the season it provides.  It takes an incredible amount of emotional energy to reach out and beg and plead for others to give of their valuable resources.  There are so, SO  many wonderful worthwhile causes, and to know that we have friends and family that choose to join OUR TEAM…is humbling in ways that bring hope to our hearts and an encouragement that goes so much farther than dollars could ever buy.  IT truly is our LIFE LINE!!

Thank you!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

