• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Canning Commences

Canning commences!

Busy few weeks around here.  But, today marks the end of canning season.  Praise the Lord!  As awesome as it is to have several fruit trees and vines in thet back yard, it is equally fun to know that we are on to a new season that doesn’t include the hours spent gathering, cleaning, cutting and processing.

However, there is something about canning that is precious to me.  This is the first year that I have really dove into canning since my mother died (I made a few jars of jam last year, but not too many.).  She was my cohort in the process.  The hours and hours spent over the kitchen table chatting and working with her was such a blessing.  This year there were more than a few tears shed during the process of peeling, cutting, processing the produce.  It is sometimes funny the things that spark deep emotion.  This is one of those.  One point I was telling a lady that I had just met about working all day canning and the tears began to flow.  Crazy, I know.  Poor lady was probably wondering what was wrong with me.  Emotions run deep.

The years and memories are steeped in lovingly watching my mom in this process.  I remember my mother and grandmother canning together as a child.  (However, they often canned beets! YUCK!  Not to mention the fact that it made the house smell awful during the WHOLE process.)  I also remember my mom taking the time to help others learn how to can on several occasions.  She was such a giving person.  The heritage and memories are so dear.

My dear, sweet mama helping me cut up apples to can. Miss her hands and her incredible encouraging heart!

So as I commence the hours, and hours and jars and jars that are plum full this fall, my heart (and pantry) are full too.  The Bible often talks about working with your hands.  My mom often quoted this verse. 1 Thes. 4:11 “And to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life and attend to your own business and work with your hands, just as we commanded you”.  Somehow there is great blessing in this simple command.  The late nights, early mornings, and tired hands all produced joy in that during this busy time in my life, it afforded me the time to reflect.  Reflect on God’s goodness.  Reflect on the joy that my mother took the time to teach me and my sister so many “hand crafts”  from sewing, to canning and a myriad in between!    The time to reflect that God is, good, faithful and loving.

 

Leave a Reply

