• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Tuesday Tracker

This summer has been a delightful one.  However, I have had an incredibly difficult time trying to keep up with my blog.  I have lots of ideas, and even write the titles for several blogs…only, they don’t make it off the notebook paper most times.  We have spent a lot of time outside which has been great.  NOW, I have moved into the next stage.  I am in the midst of making my final plans for the school year.  This overwhelms me every year.  I am not sure why either. =) I spend hours and hours trying to come up with the perfect plan, making copies like crazy, making basic plans for the first 9 weeks.  This all sounds so awesome, EXCEPT by about the second week of school everything is a jumbled mess already and we are just simply learning and doing life together.  It is all good, but somehow makes me chuckle as I STILL try to plan in the same way every time.  It comes together, BY GOD’S AMAZING GRACE ALONE!!  It is truly one of those times that I know that He is IN IT!!  My hard work is covered by His great wisdom!

Let’s see what else has been going on around here??  Well after we enjoyed an enourmous overdose of t.v. from the olympics we needed to have a no tv zone for a while.  So we had a complete tv free week.  It was so good.  I have so very often thought it would be a fabulous idea in general, (but that is for another discussion).  This was a wonderful time for our family.  (We don’t usually watch that much tv anyway, but we do get some movies from church or watch something while we do Rachel’s treatment in the evening.  This time was wonderful!!  Games, games and more games was the name of the week.  We were truly amazed at the amount of games the kids pulled out.  My mother would have been so very proud.  She loved games and purchased most of the ones that we currently have.  I know that some of the joy is that all of the kids are getting old enough to finally actually PLAY the games, but what a joy.  We all played cribbage (mom taught Nathan and he has since taught me =), uno, sequence, dominos (once again my sweet mother taught Nathan), and a few others.  What a blast.

Game playing has also been particularly helpful for feeding Rachel in the morning.  She has had a tough time of not wanting to eat as of late.  I think a lot of it is her age and desire to be independent, but meal time is such a fight most days!  The fact there are at least 6 SNACKS OR MEALS…makes for an intense battle for mom to show love, patience and kindness throughout all the fussing.  However, games=equal good distraction.

My girls.

The best part of the games, it felt like a little bit of my mom being passed onto our kids.  My mom loved games.  It was very common for her to stop by on the way home from work, 4 or 5 nights a week to see the kids and play a quick game of dominos or cribbage with my hubby.  (She usually won!  =) She was about the only person that I know that could regularly beat him too.)

A project that I have been putting off for some time is finally finished. I am caught up on my scrapbooks.  As much as I love taking pictures, I hate it when they are stuck in my camera or computer.  I really like to enjoy them and allow my kids to look at them through out the year. DONE!

Yet another BIG project was organizing my recipes!  Wow, this one took much, much longer than I had anticipated!!  I had stacks of recipes from my mother, and a whole cook book from my grandmother to sort.  There was something so precious and emotional about seeing their handwritten cards.  It was hard to have the emotional energy to deal with it many nights at 9:30 when I finally had time to work on it.  However, after an amazing amount of effort and numerous nights…finally. got. it. done!!  It feels good to know where things are, and to know that meal planning is a bit easier as we prepare to embark on the new school year.

Meals

Now, I should take a picture of the books that liter my dining room table right now, (but I will spare you the horror!!!).  I have  pre-k books, and 1st/2nd, 4th grade, and 5th grade books EVERYWHERE.  I am just about finished, (every homeschool mama is laughing right now…as if there is a way to finish) but I have done as much as I can or should do for now.

One big job that we have left to work on this summer is fruit harvest!  I almost forgot.  We have have a pear tree, apple tree and grape vines.   It is very fun, but oh so much work!! =) We are picking pears now, and I must find some good things to do with them this year.  Last year we just ate incredible amounts of fresh pears.  YUMMY, but they are only good for about two weeks.  So this year, I am going to try to can some of them???  I think I will prepare them for cobblers, or pies?  We will see.   Good and bad with the grapes this year.  The hot spell that we had a few weeks ago dropped the grapes overnight (looked like a mini wine press on our grass).  I am a little bummed about not having grapes for jelly or juice, but not sad about a project that God checked off my list for me=).

Alright, now I have listed a few of the major reasons that I have not been a good blogger lately.  Sometimes it is really good to have it all in print, so that when I am old and gray…I will have a record that I actually did something other than life PASSING by with a blink of my eye!

Thankful today for God’s goodness!

 

Leave a Reply

