• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Great Strides Walk 2012

Finally getting pictures up from a week ago. =) It has been a REALLY busy week around here!!  Sorry for the delay.  The walk was amazing again this year.

Our Rachel’s Raise of Hope Team

We were so excited to see so many of our friends come out this weekend.  There were lots of graduations, and weddings, and other activities that coincided with our group this year.  I was not sure if we would have anyone beside our own family walking this year…but as you can see we were blessed in awesome ways again this year!! (Many were there is spirit!)  It was such an encouragement to see the sea of red “Rachel’s Raise of Hope” shirts!  Praise the Lord, and bless all of you that came out!!

My precious four kiddos.

The weather was MUCH WARMER than last year.  No coats this year =)!  We had friends standing and walking with us in our fight. We were definitely blessed.  So awesome to know that we had raised over $22,000 to kick CF down!

Beautiful picture of the day!
Getting going on the walk. Rachel was thrilled to be there walking this year, and she loved getting to walk beside her cousins.

There was only one major downer of the day…the reality again of what we are up against.  The day is usually so full of emotions, and this year was no different.  Lots of joy knowing that there are so many working and fighting for us, as well as the hardship of so, so many that have lost their fight!  As we were watching the announcement of the total amount, I noticed a lady with two names on the back of her shirt along with dates (obviously birth/death).  When I looked  a little closer, I noticed that it was recent.  Last August, and that the girl was VERY, VERY young.  I know that I had a look of shock on my face, and when the lady noticed, I had to say something.  So I asked if that she was related to the girl.  The mom with tears in her eyes started to scramble to get her keychain out and proceeded to show me a picture of the girl.  She died a few months before her 15th birthday!!  That information struck a cord in my heart.  The mom looked desperate to share about her daughter’s life, and I totally understood that feeling.  The knowledge that her life was important and valuable, even though she was gone.  She also showed me a picture that she carried around that her daughter had drawn for her on a keychain.  My heart was broken for this mother, and I once again was reminded all too well the fight that Rachel has ahead of her.  Despite our best efforts…CF still steals young lives!!  So, I did the only thing I could do.  I politely but quickly shared my condolence with the mother and then walked away…barely holding back the tears till I was far enough away to let them breach the dam.  Rachel is almost 7.  That is only half of that cf girls age when she died.  The statement “Almost 15” tore my heart so, so young!!  I hate CF!!

Encouraged and delighted to see this number and to know that it meant…progress toward a cure for Ms. Rachel!!! Over $300,000 dollars raised for a future!

After a few moments of praising the Lord for day, and reflecting on the grace of each and everyday that the Lord provides, I was able to regained my composer.  I thanked God for the journey, lessons, love and joy thus far.  I also praised God that Rachel is as healthy as she is now, and I prayed for strength and energy to do what we must to keep her that way as long as we possibly are able to!!  It is in His strength that we face the challenges of CF!

The Great Strides walk was an amazing day again this year along with a reminder to keep fighting for my baby girl!  Thank you again for the many, many that prayed, gave, helped and worked with us in attempts to make CF stand for cure found!  The day is coming…soon we pray!!

No clowning around for us, we are ready to see CF controlled forever!! Rachel, Shiloh and Grandma L. along with some of Grandma’s clown friends. Sweet!

THANK YOU AGAIN for your love and support!  God is good and we are grateful for His faithfulness in our lives.  He is the maker and giver of life.  I love knowing that He cares and I love Him for loving us.

Leave a Reply

