• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Auction II

Life and Breath!

The last few weeks have been crazy…boring, okay not really. =)  Just full of family togetherness.  It has really been very busy, but with the ordinary things mostly (and clean up) which is just the way I truly like to live life.  After the months of craziness around our house, it has been really great to just do school, and clean from weeks of neglect (by the way spelling is kinda fun to do in thick dust…when you erase…the shelf is clean=)!).  The recuperation after fundraising is pretty crazy.  Not only mentally, but with things like papers, thank you’s, wrapping supplies, and joyfully checks and money to tally, and send.  Along with that though, we still had a few items left from the fundraiser that we needed to address.

Blessings beyond blessings! There were bound to be some for an "after sale"!

The fundraising process is incredible and truly forces me to step completely out of my comfort zone and into my Father’s hand!  I love that part of it.  I love the encouragement that we receive from others.  I however, really have a hard time asking and begging everyone that I know to help.  It is difficult, humbling and yet, my mother’s heart insists that I do!  I have heard it said that it is amazing what a mother’s love can cause you to do…I believe that stronger with each passing year with all of my precious kiddos.  There is nothing I would not do to help one of my sweet kids.  Even fundraising=).

Joyfully blessed with our third load of baskets to go to the first auction.

So now to Auction part II.  It was today (now yesterday, was too tired to finish the post=) we had the Part II of the fundraising items auctioned at my hubby’s work.  AMAZING!!!  Today we raised over $1,600 with the remainder of our items that didn’t sell two weeks ago!  Hubby and I were both so thrilled.  All we could do all day and night is shake our heads and continue to praise the Lord!  We had about 30 items (surprisingly there were about 12-15 items that came in after the fundraiser).  So amazed that the Lord blessed in such awesome ways.  I think that brings our this year’s total up close to $20,000!!!  Whoohooot!  Secretly I hoped that we would make it there this year, but was afraid to hope or dream!  It is an awesome feeling to know that you are working to buy research in light of the many things that are out of your hands when dealing with a fatal disease!  ALL PRAISE TO GOD FOR HIS GOODNESS!!

On that note, this morning during Rachel’s treatment she asked me if we had enough money in the bank to buy “the cure”?  I sadly told her that we do not.  It will take millions and millions of dollars to bring a cure.  She is only 6 so nickels, dimes and quarters are still a bit of money to her.  In explaining it to her, I told her that even if we had all the money from everyone on our block it would not be enough.  Then I went even bigger, if every person at our church gave (we go to a pretty big church) we still wouldn’t’ have enough.     Everyone in our city…we would still need more money.  I could see the amazement in her eyes, followed by a bit of sadness.  I continued, and let her know that every person that came out to her fundraiser the other night wanted to give what they could.  Some could give money, some their time, others their presence, but all willing to give for her.  The light and hope returned in her eyes and it was precious!!  I continued on to tell her that many, many friends and loved ones from around the city and country that could not come, found our mission for her breath/life important and gave.  I reminded her that the walk was in just 2 weeks, and all of those people are part of her team!  They are praying for a cure, for health and for God’s protection.  I went on to tell her that the cure will come from $1, $10, or $100 here and there.  It is how this disease will be fought and won.   Not too many people have millions of dollars that they are willing to give to CF research (although Bill Gates did, as I remember 40 Mil), but the $10 dollars sure adds up when it comes from a lot of different people!  Rachel smiled and snuggled in while we finished her treatment.  I also smiled knowing that we are thankfully loved by many!

While Rachel still has no idea of what CF is except that she has to do treatment daily, take tons of pills and worry about germs/sickness more than the average, she is starting to understand that there is hope of life being different!  It is odd, I love that Rachel is getting older and able to understand more, but it also deeply saddens me to know that as some point I will have to talk about the realities of current life with CF.  I pray, and I pray desperately that when that day comes, I will be able to follow the realities with a talk about there being enough money raised that the cure is days/months away from her being able to greatly benefit from it!

Thank you all so much again for your love, support, and encouragement in this fight!  It is with heavy, grateful hearts that we praise the Lord for friends and family that love and care about a little girl named Rachel, and are willing to sacrifice for her life!!

Love spending time with siblings! Blessing from the Lord!

Thank you for blessing us with the hope of many more days like this one pictured!
~With Christ ALL things are possible! Phil. 4:13

Leave a Reply

