• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Heavenly Hope

Sometimes I blog to give others an insight into our lives, sometimes for therapy, and sometimes…because I need to process the TRUTH of this journey of faith and remember the faithfulness of my Lord.  Today it is definitely the later one of those times.  This last week has been a really hard emotional week for me in regard to CF for some reason.   I deal with the little “icks” of CF every day, but then there are those times when the REAL ick of it hits me hard.  I am sure that some of it has been the extreme exhaustion, but as I wrote about the other day it also has to do with the realization that despite hope, the life we know with CF currently, is still a tough  road full of bumps and trials that are often unexpected.  However, it is so odd the way that hope transforms our thoughts and perceptions.  The problem is…when that hope is not realized, great disappointment ensues.   I am so glad that my hope rests in God alone!  Sometimes, however, I need a good reminder to turn my eyes upon Jesus. So, the last couple of days I have been muling over scripture about hope.  The tears still easily flow, as I mourn the path that we must travel, BUT I know my Savior Lives!

I am sharing three of my favorite verses!  Read and ponder.

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Romans 12:12  Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.

2 Corinthians 4:16-18  So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.

With all of the talk and anecdotal information out recently from doctors and friends that have CF kiddos, I somehow got caught up in the idea that life would very soon be different for Rachel.  I almost felt like I could maybe throw caution to the wind while we wait.  Silly as that sounds, there was hope and a sense of freedom building.  Hope in the simple things in life.  Hope that digging in the dirt would no longer make me cringe and pray for protection against the bacteria present.   Or that swimming in a lake would not be a war within against keeping her lungs healthy and letting her be a kid.   Possibility that we would not have to worry that a family member has a cold during a special occasions that we would have to skip.  The hope that she would have the freedom of popping a pill and walking out the door (compared to the daily battles of making a six-year-old stop playing to come in a strap a vest to her chest).  The greatest hope that she would grow old!!  All of these thoughts have been swirling through my head the last few months.  Hope…such a funny thing.  It is what we need to press on and yet, without the heavenly knowledge, what is it really? I came across this verse and it made me smile.  If in Christ we have hope in this life only, we are of all people most to be pitied. 1 Corinthians 15:19 Wow, if that doesn’t put it into perspective, I don’t know what does.

As I have said, I know much of my emotional state comes from being overwhelmed the last few weeks, but I also recognize it as an attack from the enemy.  I love how the word of the Lord speaks to your heart and ministers to your soul in all situations, but especially when you are in the midst of trials.  It amazes me time after time.  During these last days of wearisomeness the truth of the Bible has been so encouraging. Romans 15:13  May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope. My hope, peace and my joy does not come in medications, or raising a lot of money to beat CF, or even in ease of life.  Rather, my hope comes from the Lord alone!  I have felt the weariness and the burden of CF, and the reality that there is no day off, rain of shine…medications, treatments and caution are part of the cross that we must carry.  HOWEVER, Jesus is faithful and walks this path with us!

While I am so very thankful for this process of fundraising, the biggest being the total dependance on the Lord.  Daily we have had to lift this to the Lord.  It is by His grace and strength that I stand.  Each donations and each person coming alongside to give, pray and help…I recognize as a gift from Him.  It has been amazing!  The caution is being so busy, I forget to reflect.  Homeschooling our kiddos, housework, and all the other normal things of managing our home is a lot plus trying to tie up loose ends with the fundraiser-taking the time to stop to reflect is a must!  (Today, my list is a mile long, and yet…there is a good reason that God gives us the command to rejoice!  Love it, and I will obey.)  This verse is such an awesome reminder.   Zephaniah 3:17 The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.   He will quiet me with his love!  What a blessing!  My mind has been all over the place and will most likely be for the next 9 days, but what a promise.  He is able to quiet me!  Now that is a big God! =)

Heavenly Hope, is a gift!  Throughout this fundraiser, our goal has been to give glory to God in all things.  The enemy would love nothing more than to discourage, and refocus our hope.  However, God is good and He is more than able to turn our focus upward.  I recognize that we have an amazing amount of work in the next few days,  and we are going to be beyond exhausted by next Friday night.  But, what a comfort to know that the Lord walks this road with us!  If you think to pray for us, please do.  We would really appreciate it.  Already, God has blessed us by bringing friends and family around us.  We know when God is in it…IT IS GOOD!  Can’t wait to see HIM show off in and through our efforts this next week.  Thank you for taking the time to stop by and read.

Hope and Peace to You~


Leave a Reply

