• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Seek First!

Matthew 6:33  Seek first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added unto you. 

This is one of my favorite verses. It is especially applicable when my life seems a little crazy and busy.  It is a good reminder to be focused on His will, on His purpose and and to fully know that when that happens…it will be accomplished.  However, like I said when I am busy, this is hard to do.

Yesterday, I was blessed by this reminder in very practical ways throughout the day.  I love looking for the Lord’s leading and then FINDING it clearly.  Please allow me to share.

As many of you know we are in full swing of “fundraiser mode”.  I was trying to tally the hours the other day and it is beyond what you could probably imagine.  T-shirts, video, asking friends to make baskets, calling places for donations…the list goes on and on!  My mind is consumed with so many details.  Doing this fundraiser is so far outside the reality of what I am equipped to do.  I am a pretty hard worker, but the details and the other stuff?? not my strong points.  Yet,  I feel called to this task for so many reasons.  Not only do I desperately want a cure for my Rachel, but more than that, I feel like through this process I am stretched as a person to reach out to people that I normally wouldn’t knowing that God is leading, directing and shining His light through my (our) lives in the process of telling our story and our fight.  Jesus is reason we can smile and give praise in the midst of the harsh reality of this disease.   He is why we are able to remotely do it.  His grace, His strength, and His comfort, and His love encourages our hearts.

Yesterday, we had some car work that needed to be done and it was going to be a quiet day at home (only because we didn’t have a vehicle to go anywhere).  The morning started out well.  Kids worked on their homework first thing in the morning and were almost done pretty early with their independent work.  I checked my emails, made my list of things to do for the day.  Then I talked to my mother-in-law and she offered to come down to watch the kids.  Not only that, but to also offered to let me use her vehicle to go around to some of the places to ask for donations.  I was pretty excited because it is kinda hard to go into business places with four kids in tow.=)   My list of things to do changed quickly.  Spending time in prayer and Bible is something that we try to start our day off with every day.  Now, it doesn’t happen every day, but it is the goal each day.  With the change in the plans for the day, I was very tempted to just skip it for the day.  However, this verse came to mind.  SEEK HIM FIRST!  So, I gathered the troops and we began reading from God’s word.  I still had a list a mile long of places to try to call before I left the house, and emails to return and, and, and…  but the stillness of reading God’s word BLESSED MY HEART!

We were reading in Deuteronomy 1-3.  The passage was about the Israelites.  1:29 Then I said to you, “Do not be terrified; do not be
afraid of them. 30 The LORD your God, who is going before you, will fight for you, as he did for you in Egypt, before your very eyes, 31 and in the wilderness. There you saw how the LORD your God carried you, as a father carries his son, all the way you went until you reached this place.”  Now I fully know that this passage was a great reference to Egypt and God’s faithfulness, but the prudence of God’s word applies to life today.   Going out asking business to give to me, a complete stranger, in order to help my daughter is hard!  Some people may think it is easy, but for me it is personal and very uncomfortable.  Every person I ask I have the fear and emotional attachment knowing that if they say no, I feel like it is a no to Rachel’s future and life.  Often times I feel like CF is a wilderness.  We wander and work so hard, but currently the end is the same.  No way out of the dessert with out major intervention from the Lord.

As I dialoged with my children about the way the Lord is and has always been faithful, the joy of the Lord filled my heart.  We talked about times when God had been faithful even in the midst of hard times.  We discussed how the Lord was faithful in my mother’s death, and in our many sicknesses and in different trials that they were aware of in their short lives.  It was a joy to be reminded of the Lord’s care and that with every move that we make, if we have sought the Lord, we can be certain of His guiding and care over us.  I was able to share with them about some of the struggles of the fundraiser and things that I was praying about.  It was a great time to just spend over God’s word and all the while pondering the blessings that the Lord gives. THEY ARE ALWAYS PRESENT!!  The phrase “There you saw how the Lord your God carried you, as a father carries his son, all the way”, provides such encouragement.  The Lord walks with us always!

The second verse that I wanted to highlight from the passage that we read was, 2:7 The LORD your God has blessed you in all the work of your hands. He has watched over your journey through this vast wilderness…the LORD your God has been with you, and you have not lacked anything.   I love God’s word!  The work that I have been doing the last months, I know that the Lord has been blessing.  He is watching over us as we walk this journey of CF.  He has provided more than we could have asked.  Comfort, strength, peace, faith to know that He is in control.

Before I left Nathan asked me how many people I thought would say yes.  My response was heartfelt and genuine, I replied with I am praying for wisdom and to go where God directs.  There may be someone that  I encounter today that needs to be reminded about God’s love and salvation.  I take Jesus everywhere I go.  My prayer is that His light is seen!  Then we talked a little about “coincidences/Heavenly appointments” .  They are all around, we just need to pray for eyes that see like Jesus because  we may never know the people that God orchestrated for us to encounter for His purpose and will.  I love thinking about Heaven as it relates to this fact.

Nuggets of wonderful truths!

So after a great time of reading God’s word and praying through our day we finished up some of our other school work and my mother-in-law arrived with perfect timing.  So, I left to start on my journey of asking places.  Despite the great reading and prayer, I still felt that fear rise up.  I do not like asking for help!  It is humbling, and with every ask the trepidation is at times overwhelming.  Yesterday, I encountered this fear with faith.    As I considered places to ask, I asked the Father to walk with me.  To carry me!   The peace was amazing.  I felt like I had a friend walking next to me all day!  Guiding me, encouraging my heart and directing my paths, what a friend we have in Jesus.  Incredible!

Well, I came home after handing out dozens of flyers and asking many, many people to help my child.  While I had some strong possibilities, I did not have anything tangible to show for my efforts.  I was a little disappointed about that.  HOWEVER, God is so very good.  I came home to a gift certificate in the mail, and 2 amazing emails promising donations!  God used the day to show His faithfulness and my need for Him in everyday and all through the day!  So Thankful to the Father for His reminder to Seek First the Kingdom of God.  It is not for His benefit, but for ours to be blessed by walking with Jesus throughout the day!!

May you have a blessed day and truly SEEK HIM FIRST!!

Leave a Reply

