• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Thankful, But Missing My Mama!

Jacob (my nephew) and Grandma. This is such a sweet picture of them both.

This week as Thanksgiving has come closer and closer, I have sensed that burden of sadness.  It is “that” sadness that comes from the deep longing to be with someone that you will never see again this side of Glory…my mom.  It wasn’t until this afternoon that I was able to verbalize the feeling of sorrow.  I knew I was sad, but couldn’t put a name on it.  It is the official start to the Holiday season that is so full of fun, and family.  I have talked with people the last few days/weeks about their plans for Thanksgiving, and everyone is going somewhere or having family come in from out of town.  This is a reminder of loss.

We will have our immediate family, a Grandma and great Grandma, sister and a nephew (4 extra people total).  This is just about the same as it has been for as long as I can remember only without my mom.  It seems silly that one person can make such a difference…but it does!!  For any of you that have lost a dear mother (or your last parent) it is tough.  The sadness hangs over your heart like a deep fog.  This will be the third Thanksgiving with out my sweet mama, and it is just as sad as the first one.  It is the hole in the picture that will forever be changed.

I am thankful for many things this year.  The list is as long.  I am thankful for the family that we do have.  Although only 4 extra people are coming over…these are precious people.  I am thankful for the 4 sweet children that I have in my home today and the hope that we will have many, many more wonderful Thanksgivings in the future.  I am thankful for an amazing husband who is a treasure to my soul!  I am thankful for health for today.  Everyone is healthy today and that is a huge praise.  Thankful for my husbands job…even if he is working today. =( God takes care of us in so many awesome ways.  Then there are the things that we have that we can be so very thankful for…warm house, clothes, lots of food. =)  God is faithful.  He has always been, and always will be!

Through the sadness of today, and missing my mom, there is great joy in the blessings from the Lord.  Every breath is a gift from God, may we all choose to make the most of today and everyday.  Happy Thanksgiving.  

Leave a Reply

