• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

A Test Is Just A Test??

Well, little miss Rachel completed her cycle of Tobi yesterday.  Today, she went in for her culture to see if the bacteria is still present.  Our hope and prayer is that it is not!  As I have been pondering and preparing for her test the last few days it is so weird to know what this type of tests means.     All through high school and college I took many, many test.  Some I studies for, and some unfortunately, I did not.  Either way, most times it was just a grade and it did not ever really affect my life (my grade points were usually at a spot, thankfully that one test didn’t matter too much).   With Rachel’s test today, I was so reminded how helpless we are.  (The results could bring a huge sigh of relief or a world turned upside down for a bit.)  We have nothing BUT TRUST IN GOD!  There is no amount of studying, or working that will change the results of this test.  It just is what God allows it to be.

PFT tests (Lung function test)

This week our family has been reading the story of Fanny Crosby.  She was an amazing woman of faith, who wrote incredible songs of encouragement (“Blessed Assurance”, “All the Way My Savior Leads Me”, and a host of other very familiar songs).  There were several quotes that resonated with me, one of which was, “What can’t be cured can be endured!”.  Another one, “If God did not grant a request, then you should not be downcast because God has something better in store.  The sufferings and frustrations of this life can be borne patiently and cheerfully, because you are being led to something better.”  While we continue to lift Rachel to the Lord and pray for her health (and specifically that the bacteria is gone, while it is not the worst thing in the world, it is definitely a bacteria that will more than likely shave some years off of her life and cause her lungs to battle one more thing),  we do so with a knowledge that God is able and is in control.

If you would, please continue to pray with us that this bacteria is gone, we would greatly appreciate it.  Selfishly we just don’t want to go into the hospital or have to deal with yet another aspect of CF, but more importantly we really want Rachel’s lungs to stay well as long as they possibly can.

So while we wait for the results of the test, (which should be done maybe Monday or Tuesday of next week) read the words of one of our favorite songs.  It was actually playing the moment Rachel was born into this world!  This is her song, little did we know then…just how impactful the words would be to us day to day.

  1. All the way my Savior leads me,
    What have I to ask beside?
    Can I doubt His tender mercy,
    Who through life has been my Guide?
    Heav’nly peace, divinest comfort,
    Here by faith in Him to dwell!
    For I know, whate’er befall me,
    Jesus doeth all things well;
    For I know, whate’er befall me,
    Jesus doeth all things well.
  2. All the way my Savior leads me,
    Cheers each winding path I tread,
    Gives me grace for every trial,
    Feeds me with the living Bread.
    Though my weary steps may falter
    And my soul athirst may be,
    Gushing from the Rock before me,
    Lo! A spring of joy I see;
    Gushing from the Rock before me,
    Lo! A spring of joy I see.
  3. All the way my Savior leads me,
    Oh, the fullness of His love!
    Perfect rest to me is promised
    In my Father’s house above.
    When my spirit, clothed immortal,
    Wings its flight to realms of day
    This my song through endless ages:
    Jesus led me all the way;
    This my song through endless ages:
    Jesus led me all the way.

Thank you again for your prayers.  We will let you know what the results are when we know.

One Response

  1. Amazing, as always…You are amazing, she is amazing, and best of all, God is amazing! Praising Him as you do lifts our eyes and comforts our hearts and you persevere in doing just that. Blessings and prayers to you all from our loving heart…

Leave a Reply

