• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

School=Dazy…Crazy

Wow, it seems like this school year has been flying!  It has not at all gone like I so carefully plan each summer/week, but it is going none the less.  (The fact that I was a public school teacher often feels like it leaves a huge discrepancy between what I “think school” should look like and what it DOES look like here day after day.)    Each year I have a schedule that is planned out to the 15-30 minute increments all through the day.  It is color coded and looks so nice on paper!  HOWEVER….I usually end up throwing this out before the very first couple of weeks of school is accomplished. =)   When I think about comparing it to my days in the traditional schools I sometimes get discouraged.  But then I remember, it is suppose to look different.  This is one of the very reasons that we homeschool…even if I must remind myself this throughout the daily chaos that seems to be the normal for our days!  It is where God has called us to be, and He will bless our heart and our efforts.

This year seems to be particularly interesting.  In adding a little extra to Rachel’s morning/afternoon routines it seems to be affecting our day in interesting ways.  By the time she has sat for almost an hour doing treatment and vest, she is ready to get up and run.  (Often times I use her vest time to start her school work.  Poor girl hates it!  She loves to work hard on her handwriting and while she is jiggling it is just so hard.  “Mama, I can’t write good when I am shaking!” she often remarks.)  We keep trying to learn where we can though.  So many times it just seems like we are “sneaking” learning in here and there while randomly trying to keep to a schedule.

Our afternoon treatment. Mornings we do her vest, but the afternoons we have been doing the percussor in hopes of isolating and working on individual lobes of her lungs a little better. Hopefully it works.

It is not always work...sometimes there is a little fun and giggles mixed into the treatments. =)

Overall we are learning a lot, but it looks very different than it has in past years.  We are doing a lot of exploring of animals and nature this year.  It has been a lot of fun.  The other morning before breakfast, we captured a cricket and fed it to our praying mantises.  What an education…one that even intrigues mom.  I am pretty sure I have never watched a praying mantises hunt, capture and chomp a cricket (a little gross, but very fascinating to say the least).  I have taught Grammar in a fort, and  math on the sidewalk.  Unusual for sure, but fun none the less.  We have been out and about often this year too.  Somedays I feel like we need to stay home more and be tied to our desks, but then the very next moment I see my kids exploring something that they might not have done if I had told them to do so.  Blessing from above.

Field trip to get some pumpkins. Love being out doors.

I have been helping in teaching at a co-op this year.  While we have been in other co-ops over the last years, this is the first time I have ever taught science.  I have a love/dislike relationship with science.  It is so fun, but it is a reminder of how much I really don’t know or understand about God’s great universe.  The one thing that I have realized by teaching this class this year is how much my kids are enjoying the extra attention spent on science.  They have become science “junkies”.  We do a ton of experiments each week to see which ones are the best.  THEY LOVE THAT!  It has been a lot of work, but it has also been so awesome.  I love that they are learning to love learning.

Dad working on an experiment. This one was pretty fun especially when the water balloon exploded all over the kitchen floor. "DON'T TRY THAT ONE IN CLASS!" =)

The kids loved this experiment. Notice the dirty dishes still on the table. =) After dinner excitement or science for dessert. He, he.

Caleb presented an experiment with dry ice. He had SO much fun hearing all of the oohs and aaahhhs!

There have been many friends that think that homeschooling is an easy and always fun task.  First, I must strongly disagree, that is sooooo not true.  Second, most days we are just trying to make it through the day and get some learning done at sometime.  There have been writing lessons at 8:00 pm and history done in an alley waiting for our brakes to be changed.  My house greatly reflects a good day of learning…meaning that when we have a good full day of learning-the messes pill higher than I would like to see or admit too. =)  I have huge guilt sometimes in that I always feel like I could be doing more.  I could be teaching more, my house could be cleaner, my kids smarter….ect.  and the list goes on and on.  But I keep coming back to the fact that God is in control.  He uses my hands and effort to accomplish His goals.  I am thankful that I can be used by Him.  I am also thankful that He uses my children to shape my character in amazing ways every day.

When I see things like this...I am truly one blessed mama. Nathan showing Rachel how to throw a good spiral. Let me tell you, I don't know any other 6 year old girls that can throw like that girl now! Amazing!

Loving on one another during recess. Love getting outside as much as we can while it is still nice.

Over all I feel like there is a lot of learning getting done…just not the way that I had planned and many times I wish it could be so much more.  But God is faithful and I see His hand of grace each and every day in the lives of my children and I am blessed and thankful.

Leave a Reply

