• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Child Like Faith

This last weekend I was out at the thrift store, (mostly because it is somewhere close, other than the grocery store, that I can go by myself) for an hour or so to get away from my precious little people.  Anyway while I was there I saw a set of legos.  Star wars legos no less.  Caleb as of late has loved legos.  That is all that he asked for for his birthday and the little guy is pretty good at them too.  Anyway, I found this little bag of legos for $2.98  knowing most possibly that it would not create anything (but frustration perhaps).  I bought them anyway.  Brought them home and the joy and exultation on his face was priceless.

Before I gave him the bag I explained that some or most of the pieces may or may not be there.  He was overjoyed to begin.  My way of beginning the project was to look at the list of parts and divide them all up to figure out if we could finish.  HOWEVER, Caleb just dove right in with excitement and great anticipation.  Each page he turned and each lego that we found completed another section.  We got about halfway and I started to feel really nervous for him, he was so very excited and yet I kept waiting for the disappointment. I asked him to stop and pray for God to help us handle the frustration, and that we would have fun with the time together putting the legos together.  (I have been looking on ebay for a while now for legos.  Even used ones are $30-$60.)  So the idea of getting a lego that had all of the pieces for $2.98 was a far out possibility.   Caleb fully expected all of the pieces, while I on the other hand thought there was NO WAY!!

Well, after several hours…we had a finished product.  There were 862 pieces, and we had a complete project!  AMAZING!!  When we were finished, we stopped and thanked the Lord for His goodness.  Caleb beamed!!!

I pondered Caleb’s reaction to his gift and my reaction to the gift.  They were very different!  I was fearful and worried the whole time.  Caleb was excited and quite sure that all of the pieces would be there.  IT was the true meaning of a child like faith.  Jesus wants this kind of faith from me.  Every day, and in every situation, the Lord desire that I look at Him and His ways in the same manor.  He desires my joy, excitement, and great trust that things will work for the best because He is in control.

This was a fabulous “Lego Life Lesson”…it is something that I will remember for a very long time.  God is good and He blesses us sometimes in the most simple and unexpected ways.  Humbled by his goodness.

3 Responses

  1. AWESOME story!!! Thanks for your testimony to HIS faithfulness. Great bargain, too!! 🙂

  2. Wonderful story my dear. We have almost the same story 🙂 Except I found a set at a yard sale and it had about 3/4 of the pieces. The cool thing, was that although it didn’t have all the pieces, it was no big deal and Ethan just made his fighter plane look the way he wanted it to. Would love an update on how the feeding therapy is going. We are working on getting the referrel for Ethan to go….

  3. Impressive! Love how you saw God in this. I absolutely agree! That’s a sweet picture of you both! 🙂

Leave a Reply

