• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Top 10 Reasons I Love CF

I know this caught your attention.  Now, I don’t really love CF, it is a hard, crushing, intense disease that destroys people lives and families slowly and painfully.  However, I have been pondering the good that comes from CF for a few days now.   Please don’t get me wrong, I am sooo excited for the heartache, pain and death of this disease of CF to change, and tomorrow would not be soon enough!!!  It is exhausting physically, spiritually, emotionally and in any and every other way.  I pray daily for Rachel’s life to be drastically different!  However, in the mean time there are two ways I see to deal with CF.  I can be bitter by the difficulties, hardships, work and just plain ol’ ICK that comes from having to deal with CF every day of our lives.    OR….I can do my best, with the Lord’s strength, to try to look for the good in it.  Today-I am able to choose the joy.  (Please know that I am not super woman, and there are many, many days where CF brings me to my knees and the brink of hanging on by a prayer.)  But for days like today…I want to share the upside of CF.

Here’s my top 10

10.  I have increased my medical vocabulary 10 fold.  (I know what “anticholinergic” means and why it is important to Rachel, how about you?  It’s because I now enjoy reading medical journals and clinical trial outcomes..and can somewhat follow them.)

9.  I have a whole new set of people that I would not get to share the light of Jesus, and interact with.  Doctors, respiratory therapist, (Example…I know ALL of the head pharmacists where we get our drugs from by name and voice.) and a host of others really fun people that get to watch us walk this path.

8.  I can understand the difficulties of others with a whole new light.  There are little differences between struggles.  If it is hard..it is just hard.  Sometimes people try to compare their trials to ours…often times others have it harder than we do.  Pray for them often!

7.  Know my true friends, by the ones that take time to understand a little of what our life is like, and CARE and pray about the difficulties of it.

6.  Appreciating the times of HEALTH in a way that COULD NEVER be understood unless you have been or watched someone you love dearly fight for breath and life!  It is a blessing and gift that I cherish.  I know that tough times will come and I sometimes cringe at that thought, while rejoicing in God’s perfect plan…Knowing that He walks this journey with me is PRICELESS!

5.  Thankful that (currently, but could change at any moment) we have at least 1 1/2 hours a day that we must slow down, take a break from what we are doing and DO TREATMENTS!!  Thankful that we ONLY have 60 doses of med’s and ONLY 1 1/2 hours of treatment daily.  It could ALWAYS be MUCH worse!!!!!!!!!

4.  Get to laugh at HOW much CF medication cost.  (You must laugh, for it seems absolutely ridiculous and atrocious when it is “just” the normal…the  HEALTHY DAY CF MED’s not the SICK ONES!!  IT could always be worse too!!!!!) But it is kinda funny to tell someone that we have 1 MEDICINE that costs $3,000 a month (that is $100 per inhaled dose per day), and that is just 1 medicine…she takes 18 different ones.

3.  I love that CF MAKES me rely more on the Lord.  He is my light and salvation, CF or not.  However, the CF reminds me that He is in control daily, and I AM SO ENCOURAGED BY THAT FACT!!

2.  CF reminds me that life is VERY short.  We all know that we are going to die.  Some of us can forget this fact at times, while CF is a glorious reminder to make the most of EVERY DAY!!  God has our days numbered, and we must answer to Him for how we act and respond to Him IN this life.  We are not promised our next breath!  We must live, love and share like we are dying everyday.

1.  And the top on my list…the Lord saw fit to allow a sweet girl named Rachel to be a blessing beyond comprehension to our family…and she just happens to have CF.

God is so very good!

While I really don’t love CF.  I intensely love my little sweet girl that has CF.  I love that she is determined and has a spirit that doesn’t let anything get her down…not CF or sickness.  God allowed CF in our lives, and He has a purpose and a plan for it.  I am excited to see what God has in store for Rachel’s life and consequently our whole family through it.  He is an awesome God, and we praise Him for all things…even CF!

Ready to tackle CF!!

 “Rejoicing in hope, patient in tribulation, continuing steadfastly in prayer: distributing to the needs of the saints..” Romans 12:12

Leave a Reply

