• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Reminder of Why I Fight

Last night some sweet boys from our homeschooling community came over.  They wanted to interview and video tape our family as it relates to Cystic Fibrosis.  It was so cute.  They boys were around 11 years old.  They had thought of questions for each of us, and (with their dad’s help) set up our living room like a studio.  We felt honored that they wanted to learn about this disease and cared enough to work at putting together a video about our family, and our efforts to safe our child’s life.  It was so neat!

After they left, some of their questions struck me…at just how big of a part CF has played in our lives in the last 5 almost 6 years.   Each day we just “do” life.  We wake, eat breakfast, do what needs to be done in regards to CF, and then go on with life.  CF is always there, but in the daily,  IT HAS TO BE in the background!  Otherwise it would be TOO hard to face it day in and day out.  The boys had several great questions.  One of which was why are we doing this spaghetti dinner??  My answer was simple.  Because I am Rachel’s mother!  If I don’t fight for her life and future, who will?   I am the one that is blessed by her sweet, sleepy grins each morning,  and her spunky, giggly personality that finds so much of life amusing!  She is worth fighting for.  She is worth the late nights, the calls, and emails, the loss of pride when I humbly come to friends and complete strangers and ask for their help!  God designed and equipped our family with this in mind.

Working, planning and preparing for this fundraiser has been an intense process!!  I have seen God’s presence with me through it all!  More than raising money, it has been a faith challenging experience to trust God more.  He knows our struggles, He sees, He cares…and through this process He has sent others to join in the efforts to love, support and encourage our hearts!  It has been difficult at times to put my heart, emotions and the daily reality of how tough CF is out there for the world to see.  I have experienced great confidence, coupled with hidden fear and trepidation with each call I make, and each business I appeal to for help with Rachel’s fight.  I fear the “no” we can’t help, or won’t help…however, am thrilled, encouraged and uplifted with each “Yes, we would be happy to help you fight for your baby girl!”.  It brings me great hope.

This week I spoke at a singles ministry.  This wonderful group of “twenty somethings” made about 15 baskets for our auction.  As I was thanking them, I was profoundly reminded that most of these people did not know us, and yet freely and joyfully gave of their time and their resources to show love towards our family.  This response comes directly from the hand of the Lord!!  As I thanked them, the tears of gratitude rose quickly to the surface of my heart and eyes- for this is truly the Gospel of the Lord at work in ordinary ways AND extraordinary love!  Do I think that a spaghetti dinner is going to save Rachel’s life? No, but I do know that this is all a part of a greater plan.  Am I fighting for my child’s life and future?  You bet!!  I know that all of this is part of His plan to show love, faithfulness, and His goodness through people’s willingness to help.  He is the only one that can save!  Does God care about the money??  Not really, He owns everything (although He calls us to be good stewards of those resources & be willing to help others).  I truly believe that part of God’s plan is the joy we get from giving as well as the joy that comes from receiving.  I am greatly humbled to be on the receiving end.  Through this process it has allowed me to trust God more and know that He is faithful and has a clear plan for each of our lives.  It has been an incredible blessing to see God working in and through others.  God is truly good!

This week I was trying to evaluate why I have felt so blessed to be able to do this fundraiser despite the incredible work it brings, and I came up with a couple.  So often for us, CF has brought times of feelings incredible isolation during Rachel’s many times of sickness where we can’t be around others.   BUT THIS IS A REMINDER that we are not alone!!  Friends, family, and even complete strangers are willing to help, to be part of RACHEL’S RAISE OF HOPE!  The second reasons as strange as it sounds is that fighting against CF in this way is a relief from the daily battle of fighting the REAL CYSIC FIBROSIS!  The battles to do treatments, battles for wellness, the battles to eat and gain weight, the financial worries, the medicines…these are all exhausting and often no progress is seen on a day to day basis.  However, the fight to raise money, and awareness is a battle that I can see immediate progress.  Each “Yes!”  that I add to my list, every person that comments on our video, every person that mentions they have prayed for us…is a reminder that we have people that are fighting with us.  And just maybe, with enough people fighting, working, giving, and praying…it will be enough to bring a cure for Rachel.  OTHERS CARE!!!    This is ultimately a reminder of God’s intense love for each and everyone of us, and His desire that we see His goodness and trust Him more each day.  God is good all the time, and all the time He is good!  Thank you for working to make a difference for Rachel’s life and future!!

2 Responses

  1. We are so thankful to get to walk alongside you at parts of this journey. This is another great explanation of your heart in this. I was nodding my head as I read – I can just hear you voicing this. Thank you for being so genuine, friend!

  2. Jessica,
    Thank you so much for your words of encouragement…not to mention the beautiful work that you have done for our family. It is greatly appreciated! We are blessed to call you friend!

Leave a Reply

