• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Fundraising Friday Update 2-25

All I can say is WOW!!  God is so very good.  This has been an amazing ride so far, and God has been so very faithful!!

First I have to share something from the morning devotional that we did the other day with the kids. It was about Moses not feeling qualified to do the work that the Lord called him to.  You know the story I am talking about…the one where Moses says, “O Lord, please send someone else to do it.” Exodus 4:13

Moses said to the LORD, “O Lord, I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.” The LORD said to him, “Who gave man his mouth? Who makes him deaf or mute? Who gives him sight or makes him blind? Is it not I, the LORD? Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.” Exodus 4:10-12 God tried to tell Moses that He is in control. God is telling Moses that He created man and He can cause a person to do things that the person never thought they could do. But you already know Moses’ answer – send someone else.

God has purposes for all of us if we are believers. Paul explained this when He said: Now the body is not made up of one part but of many. If the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason cease to be part of the body. And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason cease to be part of the body. If the whole body were an eye, where would the sense of hearing be? If the whole body were an ear, where would the sense of smell be? But in fact God has arranged the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be. If they were all one part, where would the body be? 1 Corinthians 12:14-19 If God asks you to do something, it is because that is the function He has for you in the body of the Church. He will not force you to do it, and He will find another way of getting that objective met without you. However, you will miss out on a blessing and fail to get closer to God because you did not follow His leading.

What an awesome reminder!!  There is an old gospel song that says, “Pass me not oh gentle Savor, hear my humble cry. While on others thou art watching, do not pass me by.” As I considered doing this fundraiser I knew it was more than just raising money, it was about being obedient to what God clearly called me to do.  In the midst of this, I have been blessed beyond imagination.  We have had complete strangers willing to help.  We have had dear friends that are taking their time, and energy finding supporters, praying, and being a great encouragement to us.  It has been AWESOME!!!

Okay for the fundraising efforts.

So far, I think we have all of the food donated. **Desserts is the last thing, but I am going to ask friends and family members to potluck the desserts (bring a dozen of some baked item)

The paper products are donated.

Drink, and some of the pop.

**Still need coffee and or tea.

We are coming along with the items for the auction.  We have been working pretty hard on this area.  There is still much to do though.  One of the areas we really need to work on is tshirt sponsors.  We were told that the auction items will only bring in about 50%-60% of their value.  Compared to the financial contributions that bring in face value!  So, this weeks focus is getting the shirt sponsors.  Our shirts need to go to the printer by the 18th of March, so that doesn’t leave us a whole bunch of time.  (Note to self, start that part of the fundraiser earlier next year.)

FOCUS FOR THIS NEXT WEEK

-get sponsors for the tshirts

-get the word out so that people are excited to come to the dinner (on that note, we do have a spot on the noon news the week of the dinner.  Praise the Lord.)

Sorry this is not to detailed as I had intended it to be, I have been on the phone non-stop the last 3 days.  It is a good thing, but it has been a bit crazy!

God is good, and thank you for the prayers and the support.

 

As I close I am reminded in the end of the story with Moses, He was blessed in the fact that God still used Him despite his flaws.  I can clearly see that God is using me despite my flaws!  I still have people question if I can do this.  My answer to them every time is “NO! I can’t!”.  But, God is working a far greater purpose her than just raising money money to cure a sick child/disease.  He is connecting hearts and building relationships.  That is huge.  That is His heart!  He is a relational God.  Ultimately He wants to build that relationship with each of us.  I was recently reminded…it is often said that God doesn’t give you more than you can handle (the spin off is that this refers to temptation, not tasks or events in our lives).  This is a statement that is NOT found in the BIble.  Not only that, but it is not true.   GOD ABSOLUTELY GIVES US THINGS THAT WE CAN NOT HANDLE!  It is through things like this that we are reminded that it is in and through His strength ALONE that we can handle what life throws at us.   It is part of His plan that we trust Him more!  This disease of Cystic Fibrosis is HARD!!  I pray and wish that God will make it easier every day…however, I know that in and through it He continues to refine me to be the person He wants me to be.  The fundraising efforts…well…that too is part of His refinement!!  I am humbled and amazed that He loves me, and that He uses me to accomplish His plans.  Life is hard, but God is good!

Leave a Reply

