• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Fundraising Friday-Working…Living…Loving

Why look forward in fear, when you can look upward in faith”- By Max Lucado

I am going to try to post progress, prayers, and people needed each week leading up to the fundraising event on April 8th, 2011 (as well as the Great Strides walk on May 14th).

Well the last week has been full here at our house!  I knew there was a lot of work to do with planning an event, but really had no idea of the mental work that it would entail.  While there is still tons to do, I feel like it is off to a good start.  I have created the forms, have a general idea of what needs to be done, have recruited and been blessed by several friends and family members that have offered to help!  I am amazed by God’s goodness.  Initially, I felt totally overwhelmed (I still do a bit), but after spending some late nights brainstorming and following up on all of the people who said they would help…I feel a lot better.  This is not the type of job that can be done alone, and I KNEW that going into it.  Hence, why I spent a lot time praying about it before I committed to it, I was a bit scared to tell you the truth.  I felt like it was something God was giving me direction to do, but could think of a thousand reason’s why I couldn’t do it.  Isn’t it just like God to make the impossible seem possible?  It is by His strength, grace, and encouragement and the awesome ways he uses others, that I feel we are moving forward.  It is such a good feeling to know that we are not alone!

So, here is an update on what has transpired this week in our fundraising efforts.

Food: We found a place that will donate the bread, and someone else that will donate the noodles.  Still need meat, sauce, drinks and dessert. If anyone has any leads on that please let me know.

T-Shirts: A friend has offered to graciously print the t-shirts for us again this year!  Now for coming up with a design and color of shirt?  We also are still looking for sponsors for the back.

Auction Items: This is the area that will probably make the most money, and take the most combined effort to yield a positive result.  I am asking friends and family members to talk to people that they know, or have contact with that might be interested in making a tax-deductible donation.  This is a great thing for business since most businesses allow a contribution budget each year for their tax purposes. I have several friends that have started calling businesses.  My brother-in-law has been going door to door, and I have as well when time allows. (Whenever I go anywhere, I have  a flyer in my purse.)  So far, I have about 15 items, collected and a bunch more that are possibilities.

Dinner Help: I have a couple of people who will help in the kitchen, and a few that will volunteer to bus and clean up tables.  The night of the dinner will be a busy night (we hope and pray), so anyone that would be willing to help that night (or sell tickets the weeks before) would be greatly appreciated.

PRAYERS: If you think about it please pray for Rachel.  She has had a cold all week.  With Cystic Fibrosis, a common cold has the potential each and every time to turn into a crisis situation.  So while Rachel is on a strong antibiotic currently, and we have increased her breathing treatments to 3 to 4 times a day, there is still concern.  The thick mucus, that is part of the defect with CF, is a breeding ground for additional bacteria and complications. Please pray that her body will be able to fight off this cold (and that the antibiotics alone will be enough, often her airways constrict with a cold/virus and then we have the need for steroids which come with a whole other set of issues).  Currently she is still doing okay. Lots of coughing, but airways are still open and she seems to be able to clear some of the thick mucus during treatments.  Please pray that it continues until she is finished with the virus.

I am going to try to post progress, prayers, and people needed each week leading up to the fundraising event.  I am going to call them Fundraising Friday Updates.  Please contact me for more information jcleadsus@msn.com .  Thank you.

Thank you all for your kindness and care for our family.

Leave a Reply

