• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Breath of Hope

Constantly bearing in mind your work of faith and labor of love and steadfastness of hope in our Lord Jesus Christ.” (1st Thessalonians 1:3).HOPE

It is so funny to me every year when the time for the Great Strides Walk nears.  Every year I think to myself…what can I do?  Probably not a whole bunch.  I stay home with 4 beautiful children every day.  I homeschool 3 of them.  I take care of my precious little CF girl and the many tasks that come with a child with medical needs.  I cook for my allergic children daily. Love my amazing husband and try (although futile at times) to take care of our home.  When I begin to think about doing anything extra I sometimes feel like…I just don’t have the time.  THEN in the very next thought I realize that if I don’t do it who will?  Is my neighbor, or the doctor, or very many people going to really care if Rachel is here when she is twenty, thirty, sixty, or eighty years old?  The answer as harsh as it is…is no.  She may impact their lives, but she is an intrical part of my life and our family. I CARE!!!  Therefore, despite the fact that I don’t have much time or resources I will fight.  I will, with the help and strength of my Heavenly Father, work with everything that I have.  I will work at this job of raising awareness and resources to cure this difficult disease.

This morning in our devotions we read -Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men. Col. 3:23.  It kinda struck me at how many times we catogorize things in our lives as more or less spiritual.  We may feel like certain projects are more spiritual than say another project over here.  But as I read this verse today it reminded me of the phrase we say so often to our children (of course we heard it somewhere else from someone way smarter than us =).  If you clean toilets, clean them as you are doing the act for the Lord.  If you wash the dishes, do the laundry, or scrub the floor…make sure that you are doing to please the LORD!!!   So this year as I have approached the CF Great Strides walk I have laid it before the Lord.  My children have heard me pray for specific leading, strength, support and help from friends and family, and most of all for His will to be done.  (It is a funny thing to be transparent before the Lord with your children.  To lay your worries, burdens, difficulties, and joys before the Lord in their presences. While there have been a few subjects that have lacked in our school day this year, Bible and prayer time has not and I am thankful for that priceless time with my four kiddos.)   As it relates to the CF stuff they have also observed me working hard calling, looking, and trying to figure out direction.  Today the kids were able to see the joy of answered prayers.  They knew some of the things that I was praying about, and they were all present when the phone call came in today that said we had a building for our spaghetti fundraiser.  We took a moment and gave thanks to the Lord.  What a blessing that in the midst of a math lesson that we could stop, get the call and then be able to give glory to the Creator for caring about the needs of His children.

As another part of the answered prayers, I was blessed beyond words last night.  I have been mulling the idea of a dinner and silent auction around for several months now, but just this week after much prayer I felt like I had the peace from the Lord to do this.  Last night the boys had basketball and in talking to several friends about the fundraiser, one of them looked at me strangely and asked if I had heard her conversation the night before?  “I said no, why?”,  and she went on to explain that she and a few others had thought that would be a good idea to see if they could all help in getting a spaghetti feed going for Rachel.  I almost hit the floor!!!  Isn’t it awesome how the Lord works.  I know that He is good, I know that He cares an indescribable amount for His children, I know that He desires us to help carry one another burdens, but yet I am still amazed by His love and goodness to me!  He uses people to show His love.  Not only did He confirm the direction, but blessed me by giving me hope that we are not fighting this battle alone.  My heart is heavy with gratitude!

I am amazed at the people who have said they would help.  For instance today, my brother-in-law was busy on the trail trying to figure out how to best get auction items.  I just told him about it yesterday!  Amazing!!  God is good and He is able.  (**If you are interested in helping  in anyway please contact me or leave a message here.)  With the reminder of Col. 3:23    Although men benefit from the work, it is ultimately ALL FOR HIS GLORY!!!

“Rachel’s Raise of Hope” stands for so much more than the fight to cure CF.  We started it to of course help Rachel’s fight against CF, but it is also to raise our hope in the goodness of the Lord (as He walks with us daily), lastly it is to raise others hope against obstacles they may face. With God ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE!!!

So as I continue to work at planning and preparing for this event-I will work at it with all of my heart and know that I am working for the Lord… it is because of this that I have the breath of hope today.

4 Responses

  1. Yes! Thank you, Lord, for making your way clear in this!

    We are excited to help, Tiffany. And I love the name. J

    • Jessica,
      You are such an encouragement. Thank you so much for the care and concern that you show towards our family. It is a true blessing!! Your heart for the Lord is clear to see in all that you do. I thank Him for your example and presence in my life. I am excited to see how the Lord uses all of this for His glory.

  2. Enjoyed this entry very much. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. One thing I want you to know — when you conclude “no one” as to who cares if Rachel is here 20, 30 or more years from now, I say lovingly you are wrong. There are several who care, me being one of them. Know that I think of her often and pray for her when she comes to my mind.

    Know also that we definitely want to be of help in any way we can! How can I get involved in this Strides event? And let us know more details on the event for Rachel!

    And, as always, know that we are available for you, Paul and your family!

    Jeff

    P.S. – We’ve missed seeing you all. Would love to have you all over in the near future. When could you all make it!? 🙂

    • Jeff, thank you so much for your kind words. I guess I should go back and edit that “no-on” statement, because I DO know that others care. It is, however, really encouraging to hear! Somedays the CF fight seems manageable, while other times it seems more than one can or should have to bear. The fight is daily…against the fears, the reality, the unknown, the just plain hard stuff. However, it is amazing that others would be willing to come alongside and join us in this battle. Knowing that others would give of their time, prayers, and energy to make a difference for Rachel’s future is incredible. Every dollar we raise is a step closer to the cure that we so desperately want for her. While we know that God has allowed us this blessing of an intense disease called Cystic Fibrosis, we also know that He supplies ALL OF OUR NEEDS! I am blessed because you are part of that reminder that God is near, and He shares our burden. Thank you for wanting to be God’s hands and feet. All glory and honor to Him.

      p.s. I will contact you this week and let you know some ways that you can help. Also, we would love to come over for dinner sometime soon. We are available almost any night =). We can talk about it when I call you. =)

Leave a Reply

