• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Missing My Mama Today!!

Christmas 2008!! It seems like yesterday and forever intertwined!

The girls!! What fun!

Last night we did the traditional making of cookies.  For some reason this really made me miss my mama this year.  I think it had something to do with the fact that it started out as a fun and joyful experience only to have four kids run off to play after about 30 minutes and be left finishing the task by myself alone in the kitchen.  The kids did their share of rolling… the same pile of dough several times (and yet producing little to no “viable” cookies)!!!  This is the type of thing that mom and I did every year.  It was okay though if the kids ran off-because I still had one of my favorite people to share the experience with…my mom!

This morning the tears are easily flowing.  It feels like just yesterday that I saw, talked, hugged, loved on my mom—–and yet it feels like FOREVER!!!!  This will only be my second Christmas without my dear sweet mama, and so far there have been moments of sadness through out the business of this season, but today…it is raw!

I was sharing with a friend the other day about some of my favorite Christmases.  I loved each and everyone that I shared with my mom. She was very good at making them special.  It was not because there were lots of presents (most of the precious presents were from her hands).  For most kids Christmas was a time of great expectation, for us it was usually a surprise because being a single mother money was usually very tight!  At Christmas time mom often had “projects” or extra jobs to help make money.  It was kinda funny to see what ornament, or Christmas decoration she had conjured up to sale.  One year it was these beautiful beaded bells, another snowman for under the tree, yet another mini quilts (I will have to get together with my sister to remember them all, because there was seriously a project almost every year).  We often got the joy of helping in some part of it.  We knew that with out these we would more than likely not have ANY Christmas presents, and more often than not the money was used to pay for heating bills that were highest in the winter.   Mom often apologized to us, but thinking back on it, I treasure it.  What a valuable lesson that life does not revolve around you and that there are more important things than “things”.  One year we had no extra money and mom told us that we would not have really any presents under the tree and the ones we did have would be all homemade.  It was the best Christmas ever!!!  Mom made us these cool MC Hammer pants (those that are older will know what I am talking about).  We were the talk of school because everyone kept asking us where we got our pants from because they wanted to buy them.  MY MOM MADE THEM!!!  So too bad. (We almost thought that would be another project for her to make with the amount of people that asked her to make them a pair=.) We had some other small things that year, but all of it was so awesome and made with love.  It was great!

So, as I am preparing to wrap presents for my kiddos (the day before Christmas most likely) I really miss my mom’s joy and presence. I know it is here, but wow do I ever wish it were here in more than spirit.  God is good and I praise Him for a beautiful, precious mother who is celebrating Christmas in the presence of “The KING”!  But today…I do miss my mama!!

Leave a Reply

