• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Celebration of Life

Happy “Almost” Birthday to my sweet Rachel.  We had her party two days ago (because we will be busy with extended family on her birthday).  My husband didn’t think it was necessary to have a party for her…I on the other hand, suddenly had such an intense desire to make her birthday very special.  Now I love all of my children with all of my heart!!  However, there is just a difference with Rachel.  More of an intentionality to enjoy every moment with her.  I know for those that don’t have a sick child I may sound terrible, but there is a different  sense of the future hope with her than with my other children.  I think this story from Paul’s grandmother mother-in-law, 93 years old, expresses it well for me.  She had 13 children and was asked one time which one do you pray for the most, and she replied, “The one that is sick or farthest away.”  I love that response.  Although all of my children need me and I attend to their needs.  It is really the one that is the sickest that I pay the most attention to.  There have been times that one of the others have been sick, and we are by their side helping and comforting.   Unfortunately Rachel’s is a life-long chronic condition, that equals a lifetime of prayers and comfort.

Okay that being said.

A little blurry, but the smiles are still there.

So after contemplating if I could pull off a party for Rachel in light of the busy week, I decided that I had to do it.  I know that we are not promised any moments with any of our children, but…that tug of the heart is great!!  SOOOOOOOO….party planning we did.  We were blessed to be able to have  a party at the Family Fun Center.  What started out as a small party to just say that we had one, turned into a nice big celebration with over 16 children.  

Leave a Reply

