• My Family

    Blessed by the Lord for the Joy of family!!

  • Rachel’s Daily Cystic Fibrosis Medications

    Albuterol (2-4 x)
    Hypertonic (2x)
    Pulmozyme (1x)
    Glutathione Inhaled (2x)
    Advair (2x)
    Prevacid (2X)
    Ursodial (2x)
    Glutathione oral (3x)
    L-Arginine (1x)
    Acidophilus (3x)
    Vitamin (2x)
    Periactin (2x)
    vitamin d3 (1x)
    Cal/Magnesium blend (1x)
    ADEK (1x M,W,F)
    Creon 12 (6 with meals and snacks)
    Vest (2-3x) 30 minutes
    Percussion (30 minutes)
    alpha lipoid acid (1x)
    singulair (1x)
    fish oil (1x)
    nasonex (1x)
    zyrtec (1x)
    azithromyicin (M, W, F)

  • Recent Posts

  • Monthly Archives

Rising up to Call Her Blessed

I have been thinking/pondering on what to write concerning Mother’s Day for over a week now.  (I was a little wiped out from the CF walk, and then Rachel was ill.   I have also been struggling with my own sinus and allergy issues.)

So what do you say about the woman who bore you, raised you alone, and shared Christ with you day by day…when she is not here to rise up and call blessed?  This was my struggle.  This was my first year with out my mother.  Just that phrase alone brings a lump to my throat.  It was a hard Mother’s Day and one that was full of many tears…attempts to just make it through.  I did it.

Mother’s Day has always been one of my favorite holidays.  I loved my mother deeply and from a young age was able to clearly see the sacrifices, trials, frustrations that she dealt with, and with such grace and strength.  She was my hero.  The one I looked up to.  For a long time the only one that I really cared to make proud.  She was my biggest cheerleader.  (She was also at times brutally honest, but I loved that about her too.)  As a child, an athlete, a follower of Christ, a young lady, a student, a wife and finally as a mother..she was my encourager!!  She was amazing.  Now she is gone.   My heart longs to hear her voice and to know her heart of joy in the simple things that concern me and my children.  THere is no one that compares to a godly, loving, encouraging, helpful mother.  I am blessed to have had one.

I could go on and one about the wonders of my mother.  The many lessons of life that I learned from watching her struggle and toil in this world and ultimately her absolute faith in the Lord. I grew up hearing the many stories of faith in action.  I loved knowing that I had a mother that knew, trusted, and loved the Lord more than anything in this world.  She is missed greatly and I pray some day that I will be the kind of mother that my children will rise up and call blessed because of my intense love of the Lord, my faithfulness throughout this journey, and my desire to love them like Christ.  May all of my children come to know the Lord’s faithfulness not because of me, but in spite of me…all for His glory and goodness.

Leave a Reply

